How many banned or challenged books have you read?

In keeping with my post last Saturday, I thought I would check the banned books list for the last decade 2000-2009 and see just how many books on the list I had read. I’m using the list published by ALA’s (American Library Association) Office of Intellectual Freedom, in case you want to do a count of your own. This list comprises the top 100 most challenged books for the decade, as submitted by librarians from all over the country. How many have you read? Which books surprise you? Here’s my list:

  1. Harry Potter (series), by J.K. Rowling
  2. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, by Maya Angelou
  3. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, by Mark Twain
  4. The Color Purple, by Alice Walker
  5. Go Ask Alice, by Anonymous
  6. To Kill A Mockingbird, by Harper Lee
  7. My Brother Sam Is Dead, by James Lincoln Collier
  8. The Face on the Milk Carton, by Caroline B. Cooney
  9. Speak, by Laurie Halse Anderson
  10. A Time to Kill, by John Grisham
  11. A Wrinkle in Time, by Madeline L’Engle
  12. Are You There, God?  It’s Me, Margaret, by Judy Blume

Of the top 100 most challenged books of the decade, I’ve read 12. Frankly, I don’t understand why some of them are even on the list. Check out the list yourself. How many books have you read on the list? Leave me a comment, I’d love to know!

Leave a comment

Filed under Banned Books, Library Issues

Leave a Reply

