Bookmarking with Diigo

When I posted about the major explosion of the blogosphere regarding the possible shut down of Delicious, I told my readers that I would be reviewing other bookmark sites to determine which I would be using in the future. (Full disclosure: although a group I volunteer with uses Delicious, I did not use it personally.) I’m starting with Diigo, because the online sites I looked at described features that I thought I would like. As a graduate student beginning research for a major paper this semester, the highlighting functions of Diigo could be useful. In addition, my volunteer group may be looking for a new bookmarking site, and Diigo has an opportunity for group creation, so we could build a group and then each member to add it to their own Diigo groups list for future use.

Diigo is easy to sign up for. It has a basic signup page, and verifies by sending a link in an email to confirm the information provided. Once in the site, it gives you the option of importing bookmarks from Delicious, adding a new bookmark, uploading a picture, or adding a note. Adding a bookmark is easy, simply input the URL, and fill in the required information. The tagging function allows the user to organize their bookmarks, making it easy to navigate through large numbers of bookmarks. Like Delicious, you are able to access your bookmarks from any computer, making this a good tool for anyone who uses multiple computers, at home, work or school. Some of the best features Diigo offers make it a better feature for students than Delicious is however. My favorite of these tools is the ability to have it automatically save your favorite tweets from Twitter. Link your Twitter account, and once a day, Diigo will save any new favorite tweets for you as bookmarks. As someone who uses my Twitter account primarily to keep up-to-date on the most recent goings on in the Library and Archival world, and as a number of recent tweets may pertain to a paper I am currently writing, it is nice to know that I can save those tweets to be reviewed later, without having to obsessively write down every URL to a potential article as soon as the tweet appears. If you choose the free basic version of Diigo, which is what I used for this reveiw, it will only save 20 tweets a day, which is more than enough for me, but if it isn’t for you they do have versions you can pay for to get all your favorite tweets saved. Additionally, some excellent student features are the ability to highlight on the webpage using browser tools available for all major browsers, and to add sticky notes to a web page. The system automatically saves these as part of your bookmark for future use.

I’m really enjoying my Diigo experience so far, and although I still plan to review the other bookmark tools mentioned in my previous post, unless they have some really great tools that Diigo doesn’t offer, I may have already found my new tool. I’m keeping an open mind though, because you never know when a new program will work better than the one you already use. Try Diigo out if you need a new bookmarking tool. I think it’s going to be very useful during my ongoing studies.

Leave a comment

Filed under Grad School, Library, Library Issues, Reviews

Leave a Reply

